of

About this event

Germany’s ongoing election campaign is an alluring target for foreign and domestic actors seeking to influence and undermine the democratic process. The Alliance for Securing Democracy (ASD) and the Berlin office of the German Marshall Fund of the United States (GMF) will identify and analyze information manipulation and autocratic efforts to interfere during Germany’s election year.

Please join us for an interactive event, including a panel discussion followed by smaller workshops, that will shed light on the threat of election interference and discuss effective approaches to countering information manipulation targeting democratic elections.

If you have any questions regarding this event, please contact Corinna Blutguth at [email protected]

Agenda

9:00 a.m. - 9:45 a.m. EDT | 3:00 p.m. - 3:45 p.m. CET

Panel discussion with MdB Nils Schmid (SPD), Parliamentary State Secretary Prof. Günter Krings (CDU), and Constanze Stelzenmüller of the Brookings Institution

9:45 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. EDT | 3:45 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. CET

A presentation of the findings from our German Election Dashboard

10:00 a.m. - 10:45 a.m. EDT | 4:00 p.m. - 4:45 p.m. CET

  • Group I: Russian Interference
  • Group II: Chinese Interference
  • Group III: Gendered Disinformation

10:45 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. EDT | 4:45 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. CET

Conversation with Dr. Daniela Schwarzer, Executive Director for Europe and Eurasia, Open Society Foundations and Laura Thornton, Director, Alliance for Securing Democracy