The German Marshall Fund of the United States is grateful for the generous contributions it receives from individuals, foundations, corporations, and US and foreign government agencies. Our donors make possible the strategic initiatives needed to strengthen transatlantic cooperation in the spirit of the Marshall Plan. The funders listed below contributed $5,000 or more in the 2017 fiscal year (June 1, 2016 – May 31, 2017). 

Individual Donors

GMF is grateful for the generosity of our individual supporters.

Charles A. Buchanan Annie Maxwell 
Greg Craig  Maren Otto
Marc Grossman  Meghan O'Sullivan 
David Ignatius  Richard Powers 
Thomas Kelly  Shyam Reddy 
Robert G. Liberatore  David Smick
Roman Martinez  Robin West (Co-Chair)

For their lifetime contribution of over $100,000, GMF extends special recognition to Guido Goldman (Chair Emeritus) and Marc E. Leland (Co-Chair).

Strategic Cross-Sector Donors

$1M and above


$500,000 and above




$250,000 and above

Fritz Thyssen Foundation
Japanese Mission to the EU
Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation
Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Norway
NWI Management

$100,000 and above

Airbus Group
Bank of America
Bilbao City Government 
EU Commission
European Cultural Foundation 
Ministry of Defense, Latvia 
Open Society Foundation
Sasakawa Peace Foundation
The Kresge Foundation

$99,000 and below

AARP Honeywell 
Asan Institute of Policy Studies HP Inc.
Balkan American Security Project   J.P. Morgan
Boeing Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Finland
Brussels Capital Region  Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Germany
Business Software Alliance Noble Energy 
Centrica   PhRMA 
Chevron Port of Seattle 
Cleveland Foundation Raytheon
Dataminr  Romanian American Foundation
ELNET Skillman Foundation 
Embassy of Japan in DC Skoll Foundation 
Embassy of the US, Germany  Smith Richardson Foundation  
Embassy of the US, Holland Solvay S.A. 
Embassy of the US, Poland  Smith Richardson Foundation
European External Action Service  Surdna Foundation     
Exxon Mobil The SilverParker Group 
Facebook The Wallenberg Foundation 
FEPS Wilfried Martens Centre for European Studies 
Foundation for Baltic and East European Studies