The German Marshall Fund of the United States is grateful for the generous contributions it receives from individuals, foundations, corporations, and U.S. and foreign government agencies. Our donors make possible the strategic initiatives needed to strengthen transatlantic cooperation in the spirit of the Marshall Plan.

Our donors engage with GMF and its mission through partnerships, charitable donations, and through our Business Alliance membership. Below you may find a list of partners for the 2020 fiscal year (June 1, 2019 – May 31, 2020).

Read GMF's External Funding Principles  | Information on Supporting GMF

Strategic Cross-Sector Donors

$1 Million and above   

Auswartiges Amt Ministry for Foreign Affairs Sweden

Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs Robert Bosch Stiftung  

$500,000 - $999,999

Democracy Fund   Hewlett Foundation

$250,000 – 499,999

Charles Stewart Mott Foundation

Compagnia di San Paolo

Craig Newmark Philanthropic Fund

European Commission

Federal Republic of Germany (through KfW)

Klarman Family Foundation

Meridiam Infrastructure

Open Society Foundations

Policy Center for the New South

Stiftung Mercator

The Bernard and Anne Spitzer Charitable Trust

$100,000 – 249,999


Bank of America Charitable Foundation Inc


BSA | The Software Alliance


Daimler AG


European Union Institute for Security Studies

Luso-Americana Development Foundation

Microsoft Corporation

Ministry of Defense of the Republic of Latvia

Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Belgium

Mission of Japan to the European Union

NWI Management LP

Taipei Economic and Cultural Representative Office in the U.S.

The John Pritzker Family Fund

The Kresge Foundation

Turkish Industry and Business Association (TÜSIAD)

WEND Collective

Wilfried Martens Centre for European Studies

ZEIT-Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius

$99,000 and below

A. Brando Corsar

Air Liquide

Airbus Group

Airlines for Europe

AJC Transatlantic Institute

Ajenai Clemmons

Alton Buland

American Council of Learned Societies

Bayer AG

Benjamin Wittes

Bertelsmann Stiftung

Bobby O'Brien

Brussels Capital Region


Cleveland Foundation

Comcast Corporation

Darya Pilram

Delegation of the European Union to the U.S.

Dennis Drake

Donald Penovi

Elena Bianco

ELNET | European Leadership Network

Embassy of Canada in France

Embassy of Japan in the United States of America

Emily T. Kuo

European Council on Foreign Relations

European Cultural Foundation

European Investment Bank


Family Fund

Federal Office for Migration and Refugees, Germany

Fondazione de Sardegna

Foundation for European Progressive Studies

Fred Cohen

Fundación ONCE

George Walker

Georgetown University Law Center

Glynn E. Behmen

Goethe Institut

Google LLC

Green Family Foundation

Helen Tarleton

Hrysoula Lazaropoulos Lazaropoulos

Ian Gallagher

Instituto Affari Internazionali (IAI)

J.P. Morgan Chase & Co.

Jacob Ribakoff

Jean Kemp

Jean-Christophe Bas

Jessica McDowell

Jose Ignacio Garcia

Juergen R. Grossmann

Julie Pham

Katherine Smyth Haskins

Khoa Nguyen

King Baudouin Foundation

Knight Foundation


Lisa W. Hess

Lockheed Martin Corporation


Marc Libants

Matignon – Government of France

Matthew Clayson

McKinsey Global Institute

Michael Berkowitz


Miles Palley

Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Finland

Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Switzerland

Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Netherlands

Munich Security Conference

North Atlantic Treaty Organization

Patricia Gibbons

Patricia Martini

Peter Backes

Pinnacle Technical Resources

Rachel Halpern

RAND Corporation


Robert Hoover

Schneider Electric SE

Science Applications International Corporation

Seanan Murphy

Seth Stodder

Silver Parker Group

Susannah Genosssar

The Boeing Company

The Millstreet Foundation Inc.

The Sasakawa Peace Foundation

The Wallenberg Foundation

Timothy Macinta

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

U.S. Department of State

U.S. Embassy in Belgium

U.S. Embassy in France

U.S. Mission to NATO

U.S. Mission to the European Union

Union of Chambers and Commodity Exchanges of Turkey

University of Pennsylvania

Valeo Management Services

Wells Fargo Corporate Philanthropic

Wilhelm Merck & Nonie Brady

World Jewish Congress

Board Member Donations

We are grateful to every one of our esteemed board members for their demonstrated commitment to GMF’s mission.

Karen Donfried 

John B. Emerson

Kassie Freeman 

Guido Goldman   

Marc Grossman

John Harris 

David Ignatius

Thomas Kelly

Rear Admiral (Ret.) John Kirby

Mitch Landrieu

Marc Leland

Annie Maxwell

Meghan L O'Sullivan

Shyam Reddy

Kathryn Ruemmler

Christopher Schroeder

David Smick

J. Robinson West